10th - 13th March

14:10 Cheltenham 10 Mar 2020

Racing Post Arkle Challenge Trophy Novices' Chase

Grade 1 | Class 1 | 5YO plus

Winner £98,472 - 11 ran

1m 7f 199y

Soft (Heavy in places)

Draw Advantage: None

Kevin Blake
by Kevin Blake

Published 8th Feburary

The Arkle Challenge Trophy Chase is always one of the most exciting races on the opening day of the Cheltenham Festival and this year’s renewal is shaping up to be no different. Notebook, Fakir D’Oudairies and Cash Back dominate the market and represent the pick of the intertwining form lines of the Grade 1 novice chases in Ireland, but the answer could well come from the other side of the Irish Sea in the shape of the Olly Murphy-trained BREWIN’UPASTORM.

The seven-year-old wasn’t all that far off the best of last season’s novice hurdlers over mid-range trips, despite giving the impression throughout the campaign that he would be suited by a shorter trip. Having had a breathing operation over the summer, his connections decided to drop him to shorter trips for novice chases and results have been promising.

He made a winning chasing debut at Carlisle in October and while those bare facts might not sound very sexy, the form very much stands up

He made a winning chasing debut at Carlisle in October and while those bare facts might not sound very sexy, the form very much stands up as he came from quite a way off the pace to beat a field that included Good Boy Bobby, Midnight Shadow and Global Citizen.

He followed up in good style at Taunton three weeks later, giving 6lb and a beating to the useful Southfield Stone. His jumping was quite good at Taunton and he gives the impression that he’ll be even better in a well-run race.

Brewin’upastorm met with a minor setback since Taunton, but his connections have reported that he is in excellent form and their intention is to send him straight to the Arkle without another run. Given that he hasn’t run since mid-November, he seems to have been forgotten by some and his odds of 10/1 appeal as being too big.

Cheltenham 14:10, 10 March 2020

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt SP
2019Duc Des GenievresW P MullinsP Townend6 11-45/1
2018FootpadW P MullinsR Walsh6 11-45/6f
2017AltiorN J HendersonNico de Boinville7 11-41/4f
2016DouvanW P MullinsR Walsh6 11-41/4f
2015Un De SceauxW P MullinsR Walsh7 11-44/6f
2014Western WarhorseD PipeT Scudamore6 11-433/1
2013SimonsigN J HendersonB J Geraghty7 11-78/15f
2012Sprinter SacreN J HendersonB J Geraghty6 11-78/11f
2011Captain ChrisP J HobbsR Johnson7 11-76/1
2010 Sizing Europe H De Bromhead A E Lynch 8 11-7 6/1
2009 Forpadydeplasterer T Cooper B J Geraghty 7 11-7 8/1
2008 Tidal Bay J Howard Johnson D O'Regan 7 11-7 6/1
2007 My Way De Solzen A King R Thornton 7 11-7 7-2
2006 Voy Por Ustedes A King R Thornton 5 11-2 15-2
2005 Contraband M C Pipe T Murphy 7 11-7 7-1
2004 Well Chief M C Pipe A P McCoy 5 11-3 9-1
2003 Azertyuiop P F Nicholls R Walsh 6 11-8 5-4f
2002 Moscow Flyer Mrs J Harrington B Geraghty 8 11-8 11-2
2001 No Race
2000 Tiutchev N J Henderson M Fitzgerald 7 11-8 8-1
1999 Flagship Uberalles P F Nicholls J Tizzard 5 11-0 11-1
1998 Champleve M C Pipe A P McCoy 5 11-0 13-2
1997 Or Royal M C Pipe A P McCoy 6 11-8 11-2

Existing User?

Forgot your password?

New User?

Sign up using our simple one-page form and you'll be able to access free video form, tips and exclusive content straight away.